Out of victimhood!

It’s a big accomplishment for me to express injustice! Especially in the workplace! And I did just that.

This week we had a meeting in which my manager hit us all with a bombshell. Some teachers would be given extra teaching hours for this term. That is really the last thing anyone of us wanted to hear. I was particularly angry because I am already dealing with an overcrowded class with some severe behavioural issues.

I kept very quiet during the meeting but my face said it all. I was furious at being being one of the teachers given the heaviest teaching load!

I decided to do something about it. The next day my manager was out of town so I couldn’t speak to her. I really needed to express my unhappiness so I wrote her an email; professional in tone but exacting in its message. I made her aware of how difficult things were for me this term and expressed my frustration with the added burden of extra hours.

As soon as I wrote the email I felt better. I just had to get it out.

The next day the manager came to me and apologised. She was genuinely appreciative of my feedback.

We all have the right to express our discontent whether it be in the workplace, with family or friends. I guess I am tired of secrets, of misplaced shame, of being voiceless and most of all….of being a victim!!!

Leave a Reply

