Day one of the 3 day quote challenge

Thank you to Ms Ethel Duck for nominating me for the the 3-day quote challenge.

I am a quote lover so this is something that I will love! Today I choose one of my favourites from Maya Angelou.

best-Maya-Angelou-Quotes-sayings-wise-people

This can be interpreted in many different ways depending on the perception of the reader. For me, it is important because it is a reminder to trust my feelings and gut instinct. Too often in the past, I repressed my feelings and didn’t trust my feelings. I became so good at hiding my feelings and containing, concealing and ignoring them. The abuse I endured as a child taught me that as a survival coping mechanism.

But I am now learning to listen to my feelings and express my feelings in the moment. I am learning that I have good insight and that my feelings and powers of intuition will guide me where I need to go if only I allow them to.

I was so afraid of feelings before. The feelings that I had shoved down were scary and I didn’t want to face them but now I see that they are just feelings. They don’t define me and they won’t kill me. I can use them as my compass as I navigate through life as a single mum.

One thought on “Day one of the 3 day quote challenge

Leave a Reply

