Electric!

winter-run

I can only describe the atmosphere at yesterday’s winter run as “Electric”, what an incredible energy generated by thousands of runners braving the cold. Equally amazing was the support for the 10km run which took in breathtaking views of London from the start of the race at Trafalgar Square until its end at Westminster. It was fantastic to be part of such a wonderful event which raises money for Cancer Research. My dear grandmother died of breast cancer in 1999 and on my back I had a note fastened with safety pins which said, “Running For Ma” as I called her. As I was running, I read hundreds of notes to people whose parents, relatives or friends had died of cancer or were being treated for cancer.

Such a massive turnout and along the route we had singers, drummers, penguins and polar bears to cheer us on. At the end of the race we were treated to deliciously cold coconut water and Lindt chocolate.

I was so proud to be part of such a spectacular event and I finished the 10km in I hour 10minutes  a PB for me.

These are the things that keep me going, that make me feel alive and connected and make me feel good about myself. I was on a high for the rest of the afternoon. I have my sights set on a half marathon next!!! Watch this space.

Have a fantastic week!

2 thoughts on “Electric!

Leave a Reply

